## REGULATION 6: THE COURT (MEETING AS 'SUSSEX ANNUAL FORUM')

- 1. The University's Court shall meet as the 'Sussex Annual Forum' an annual meeting to promote the Research, Teaching and interests of the University to the local area, enhance relationships with businesses to strengthen placement opportunities and provide an opportunity for networking
- 2. The Sussex Annual Forum shall include University senior staff and stakeholders, comprising representatives of local businesses, local Government, agencies that the University has close relationships with and other community groups, namely: -
  - (a) The Chair of Council (who will chair the Forum).
  - (b) The Vice-Chancellor.
  - (c) The Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  - (d) The Pro-Vice-Chancellors.
  - (e) The Lord-Lieutenants of the Counties of East Sussex and West Sussex.
  - (f) The High Sheriffs of the Counties of East Sussex and West Sussex.
  - (g) The Members of the Commons House of Parliament elected for the parliamentary constituencies in the Counties of East Sussex and West Sussex and in the Brighton and Hove Unitary Authority.
  - (h) Members of Council.
  - (i) The Heads of the Schools of Studies.
  - (j) Two persons appointed by Council of the County of East Sussex.
  - (k) Two persons appointed by Council of the County of West Sussex.
  - (I) Two persons appointed by Brighton and Hove City Council.
  - (m) One person appointed by Council of each of the Boroughs or Districts of Adur, Arun, Chichester, Crawley, Eastbourne, Hastings, Horsham, Lewes, Mid-Sussex, Rother, Wealden and Worthing.
  - (n) One representative from local and regional bodies, enterprises and faith communities, learned or professional societies or bodies and local or regional employers.
  - (o) One representative from each of the University's Partner Institutions as follows:

Bellerby's College, London and Brighton Brighton Institute of Modern Music Chichester College Central Sussex College Croydon College Highbury College Portsmouth Roffey Park Institute Study Group International West Dean College.

- (p) Such other persons as may be appointed by Council.
- (q) The Heads of such Colleges of Further and Higher Education in the Counties of East Sussex and West Sussex as follows:

Head of City College Brighton and Hove Head of Northbrook College Head of Plumpton College Head of Sussex Downs College University of Brighton University of Chichester.

(q) Director of the Institute of Development Studies.

## 2. Categories

- (a) A person who is appointed by a body, or to represent a body, on the Court need not be a member of the body which appointed him, or her, or which he or she represents.
- (b) Members in categories (i) to (p) shall continue in membership for a period of three years commencing on 1st August in the year in which they take up their appointments and shall be eligible for re-appointment; provided that such members who are required to hold a particular qualification or appointment shall be members only so long as they hold that qualification or appointment.
- (c) Members in category (p) will typically be drawn from the following categories:
  - (i) Organisations that the University has a strategic relationship with'
  - (ii) Local companies and organisations that the University has a relationship with, including
  - Sussex Innovation Centre businesses
  - Local businesses that the University engages with via:
    - \* Development and Alumni Relationships Office
    - \* Careers and Employability Centre
  - (iii) Intellectual and creative activities in the community
  - (iv) Other contacts in external organisations.

Approved by Council January 2017